Happy Birthday, Andy!

First thing. Ever since that iOS update where Apple put a specific app on my phone for podcasts, I’ve been regularly listening to podcasts. I don’t want you to think that I’m some sort of uncool person who didn’t know about podcasts before that, I knew about them YEARS AGO, so get over yourself. I even listened to them, just not regularly. Anyways, now I’m listening regularly and I’m going to tell you about my favorites.

Death Sex Money with Anna Sale. This is my absolute favorite and I’m so excited whenever there’s a new episode because I know I’m going to enjoy it.

The Longest Shortest Time with Hillary Frank. This podcast is about parenting and primarily about parenting infants and toddlers. Even though I am not a parent, I still find it extremely interesting. Not every single episode resonates with me, but the vast majority, do.

99% Invisible with Roman Mars. These are tiny episodes, usually between 12 and 20 minutes and they are so good. It’s stories about stuff that you probably didn’t know about, but will absolutely find interesting.

Freakonomics with Stephen Dubner. This one is almost always entertaining and thought provoking.

Happier with Gretchen Rubin. This podcast is al about little things we can do to improve our satisfaction with life.

I listen to more podcasts than what’s on this list, but the above are my favorites. It’s worth noting that if you’re new to podcasts, it’s good to listen while you’re doing something else. I like to listen when I put on makeup, get ready for bed (99% Invisible is perfect for this because they’re so short) do my household chores or work on a craft project. I find just sitting down to listen kind of boring and I almost always fall asleep, which is rarely what I want.

Second thing. Today’s tea party was a great success! The kids enjoyed all the food. That doesn’t happen every single tea party. It’s hard to plan the food because there’s really no telling what the current group of kids will enjoy. Bologna sandwiches with American cheese and mayo are a staple that are always a kit. Turkey sandwiches have always bombed. Ham is hit or miss. Pimento cheese is also hit or miss. Actually, the hardest thing is to get the kids to just TRY something. They almost always like the food after they try it, but the put their noses in the air about anything that looks even slightly unfamiliar. Anyway, this time it was a great success and I’m always glad for that.

Third thing. Today is Andy’s birthday! Yay for Andy! He’s a really great man and I really like him a lot. We’re going out to dinner at Orchard City Kitchen. We’ve never been there before and we’re looking forward to the experience. If Andy didn’t have a cold sore, I would tell you that he was absolutely going to get lucky tonight because I know for sure that his date is super easy, but he does have a cold sore, so no dice. Even super easy dates have their boundaries, people.

Leave a Reply

