New Eyebrows

  1. Through following a series of links on Instagram, I found Kristie Streicher. She believes in a full, natural feathered brow. I absolutely adore this look, but my brows are very sparse and pale. As per her instructions to her clients, I’ve decided to let my brows grow for at least 8 weeks and see what happens. When I first decided to do this, I knew it would be difficult to not tweeze for 8 weeks, but oh boy, it’s so much harder than I anticipated. I’m sticking with this, though because I have a feeling that I’ll end up with brows I’m much happier with than my current ones. Just for the record- I “draw” on my eyebrows every day.  I’ve been doing this for at least 10 years and while I think I do a fairly good job, I do not love how perfectly sculpted they look. I’ve attempted to draw a more natural looking brow, but it’s a lot of work! The perfect looking brow is much easier.

  2. We spent Memorial Day weekend with our nephew and it was so nice. It’s been entirely too long since we had that kid over. His sister was very good about inviting herself for a visit and I think I had gotten so used to her just asking to come to our place that I forgot that our nephew doesn’t work that way. Now that I’m on the right track, I hope to have him over more often because it was a really good time! The Nephew is super into trying new foods and he’s not particularly fussy about what he eats, so we had a full weekend of great food. First we went to the 4th annual Taco Festival of Innovation. It’s a gathering of fancy food trucks who don’t usually do tacos, doing tacos. The vibe at this festival is super laid back and we figured that we’ve got 2-3 more years until it’s completely ruined by too many people. Sunday morning we went to dim sum. Our favorite place is extremely popular and the wait can be hilariously long. We got lucky and only had to wait about 15 minutes. It was The Nephew’s first time having dim sum and he really enjoyed it! Andy decided to give The Nephew a cooking lesson. Andy taught him to make coleslaw (a nephew favorite) and grilled steak. Our dinner that nigh was great!

  3. I’m a big fan of the subscription box. We get Murray the Bark Box, and I subscribe to Beauty Tube, PopSugar Must Haves and Nature Box. The Bark Box is a huge success. Without exception, Murray loves every single toy he gets from them, The treats are hit or miss, but that’s okay. I make a really big deal out of opening the box and Murray gets very excited and the whole thing is hilarious and so much fun. The Beauty Tube is, as you might imagine, beauty products. You get a lot of stuff in each box and it’s a good mix of drugstore and high end products. Of course I’m not interested in EVERYTHING I get sent, but it’s fun to keep the stuff and let my friends and family go through it and see if there’s anything they’re interested in. I like enough of the products they send to keep up with the subscription. I’ve only gotten one PopSugar Must Haves box and I was extremely impressed with it. They do a mixture of beauty, food, lifestyle and home goods. I’m excited to get more boxes and see what goodies those contain. My first box had some delicious taffy, a beach towel, a very cute necklace, an adorable little vase, dry shampoo, and shave balm. Nature Box is snacks. They focus on “healthy” snacks. I put healthy in quotes because there are an awful lot of cookies and dried fruit and nuts to choose from and I think they healthiness of those items is somewhat dubious. That said, I do think the products are tasty and high quality and you can choose to either be surprised by what you get or choose your own snacks. The thing I’m most excited about from them are their little cups of oatmeal. I’d mostly given up on oatmeal because it spikes my blood sugar and leaves me feeling sick. I decided to give these little cups try because they carbs were relatively low and I figured if they didn’t work out for me, Andy could take the remaining cups to work. It turns out that these little cups are a great snack for me and I enjoy them so much!

4 thoughts on “New Eyebrows

  1. J-a-n-e-t

    Catie, I too just recently did the a similar three-week grow out no plucky thing with the eyebrows. It was pure torture…but I endured. Come to find out I still have pretty wimpy brow game so, I ended up at Ulta and was introduced to IT cosmetics. The brow stuff that I chose was the brow gel in universal taupe (which seems to work for all skin tones and hair colors). I also purchased the angled brush that goes with it. It is amazing. I highly recommend it. my brows look better than they have in years and they are not too perfect looking, either.

    1. catiecake

      Kristie Streicher sometimes makes women go up to a year of growing, depending on what’s happening with their hair growth! So far I’ve learned that my left brow hair grows super fast, the right one, not so much. There’s a significant difference between them. I’ve never tried IT products. I use Anastasia brow gel and powder and Laura Mercier pencil.

  2. I wish I had the patience and the know-how for doing brows. I watch approximately a gazillion makeup tutorials on YouTube and I almost never wear make-up. I guess I’m more fascinated with watching the process rather than DOING the process. For what it’s worth, I have always liked your brows (and your makeup in general). 🙂

    Ipsy is the only subscription service I’ve used (and I’m only on month 2), but the Pop Sugar box and the Allure Beauty Box are two that I’ve heard magical things about! I love that Murray gets excited about his Bark Box. He is the cutest.

    1. catiecake

      WHAT?! How did I not know about the Allure Beauty Box? When I went to check it out, the site it down! Haha. That thing must be super popular. Thanks for your compliment about my eyebrows! If I’m not able to get a significant change from growing them, I’ll be okay with sticking with my normal routine. I’ve recently gotten super into You Tube makeup videos and I’ve been surprised by how much I’ve learned. My favorite right now is Nikkie Tutorials.

Leave a Reply

