Loose leash

I got three great tips on how to manage the afternoon slump. The first one was to save something I really want to do for the afternoon, the second was caffeine and the third was to do some simple physical task like fold laundry or straighten up. I think all of those are great and I’m going to give them all a try.  Today I took a nap, but that leads to me staying up too late, so, not so great.

Today I took Murray over to this borderline hidden area of our fancy pants outdoor shopping mall and did some obedience training with him. It’s been a long time since I’ve worked seriously with him and the look on his face when he realized that I wasn’t just playing was priceless. He was all, “what the hell, Lady?” I’ve worked SO HARD with this dog on obedience stuff, I’m very proud of how well he does, even after an extended break. He’s just my very favorite dog. After we got home he fell dead asleep on the sofa and didn’t get up until it was time for dinner. Having to use his thinker for good instead of for evil was exhausting, apparently.

Next week Andy is out of town for a work conference, which means I am left to my own devices. The good parts are that I will eat Early Dinner every single night and I’ll go to bed early. This morning I asked Andy if he had hired someone to come in and make me breakfast while he was gone- I think that spousal substitutes should be a thing- and apparently the answer is no. This is going to be a rude awakening, I can tell you that.

Listen, Christmas is still up in my house. I thought about taking it down yesterday, which was the 12th day of Christmas, but uh, I didn’t. It’s all still so pretty! My tree was cut down right before Thanksgiving, it arrived Thanksgiving weekend and it’s still gorgeous. I’ve totally gotten my money’s worth. I wonder if I should look into Valentine’s ornaments.

Leave a Reply

