The good and the not as good.

When are you getting out of a slump, some days are good, some days are less good. There is really no magic. Tuesday was great. Wednesday was 50% great. I see my job in this as making the most of the good and not getting caught up in the bad because this is a process and one does not go from slumped to pumped (what?) in no time.

The daily walks are helping a lot. A LOT. Blah, blah, why do I ever stop with the daily walks when I know how much they matter, but I do stop and then I start back up and it’s like magic. There are always Murray walks, but I don’t count those because I can make those really sort or even cheat and just take him to the park to run around. The thing that interests me the most about these walks is that I’m only walking for 30 minutes, at whatever pace suits me in that moment and I feel so happy when I’m done.

The cooking is helping, too, even though it’s also sort of a pain in the ass. I mostly enjoy cooking and I’m good at it and Andy really, really appreciates it. The thing about it, though, is that when it comes time to make dinner I rarely really want to do it. I’m always glad after I do, but I force myself to do it. Tonight we had apricot and mustard glazed pork chops, buttermilk mashed potatoes and haricot verts. It’s was delicious and I will absolutely make it again. Tomorrow night is super easy, roast chicken with potatoes and carrots and a spinach salad. Cooking at home is so much cheaper and healthier than going out or picking up and it’s nicer, too. I mean, you can wear lounge clothes, so that counts for a lot.

What’s not working is not having something to do in the afternoons. That’s when my energy wanes and I think I need an assignment during that time to prevent the slump. Maybe I should do another walk? Plan to run errands? How do you work-a-day types manage the afternoon slump? Maybe I need an afternoon snack/caffeine break. I don’t know, but I need to do something.

Tomorrow the housecleaner comes, so tomorrow will be a good day because any day where my house is cleaned without me doing it, is good.

4 thoughts on “The good and the not as good.

Leave a Reply

